Chafariz do Carmo Lisbon

Chafariz do Carmo, Lisbon

The Chafariz do Carmo (Carmo Fountain) stands in Largo do Carmo, outside the ruined Convento do Carmo in Santa Maria Maior, central Lisbon.

The Chafariz do Carmo, Lisbon
Chafariz do Carmo

History

The fountain was built in 1771 to distribute water from the Águas Livres Aqueduct via an underground tunnel - the Galeria do Loreto.

Also in the square is the Palácio dos Condes de Valadares and the GNR Museum (Museu da Guarda Nacional Republicana).

During the 1974 Carnation Revolution, Marcello Caetano, who had succeeded Salazar as Prime Minister, sought refuge in the Carmo barracks. The building was surrounded by members of the Movimento das Forças Armadas (Armed Forces Movement or MFA) including Salgueiro Maia, who persuaded Caetano and his followers to surrender to General Spinola, the leader of the MFA.

Palácio dos Condes de Valadares
Palácio dos Condes de Valadares

The Palácio dos Condes de Valadares stands on the site where the first Portuguese university was founded during the reign of D. Dinis, before being transferred to Coimbra. Often used as a school, the building is presently vacant.

The square is one of the most pleasant in the city lined with jacaranda trees and pavement cafes ideal for a relaxing cup of coffee or glass of wine.

The Chafariz do Carmo dates from 1771.
The Chafariz do Carmo fountain dates from 1771

Access - Getting There

Visitors can reach the square on the Santa Justa Elevator, which connects Largo do Carmo to Baixa Pombalina, close to both Rossio Station and Restauradores Station.

The fountain is opposite the Convento do Carmo.
The fountain is opposite the Convento do Carmo

Lisbon Related

Sociedade de Geografia de Lisboa

Bairro Alto Map

© Portugal Visitor.com